Pop Art Portraits

These Pop Art Celebrity Portraits always get my teen artists excited to create! It’s the perfect remote or in person lesson. Super easy and your artist will be thrilled with the results. It’s also a great way to introduce artists to digital art and get them familiar with photo editing.

Photopea 📷 📸

Have you ever wanted to teach digital art or photo editing but didn’t have access to certain programs? Photopea is the perfect solution to this problem👌🏽 It’s a FREE website and the possibilities are endless. I suggest giving artists a Photopea “tour” of the site prior to starting this project, especially if it’s their first time working digitally.

TIP: When using Photopea be sure to ALWAYS save your progress BEFORE exiting out. It will get deleted when closing the page and there’s nothing worse than losing all your hard work 😣

Let’s CREATE!

Before starting this project, we discuss Pop Art and today’s pop culture. Artists’ then choose an appropriate celebrity photo to transform, save to their computers, and open in Photopea. After changing the image to black & white, artists add color. Although I emphasize that Pop Art uses bright colors, I allow my artists to use any colors that they’re drawn to in any way that they’d like 😊

A demo is ABSOLUTELY necessary for this project. I did this lesson while we were virtual. Since it was the first time my middle schoolers were doing photo editing we worked on it part by part. There’s ALOT of tiny steps that if skipped can effect the entire portrait 😐 To avoid this, I created a step by step instruction guide to better assist and BOY did it help! It also allowed my more experienced students to move ahead so that I could assist those that needed a little extra attention 👍🏽

If you would like step by step instructions on how to create these awesome portraits, it can be found in my TPT store here —> Pop Art Portrait 🙂

Sharing Your Art 🎨

If you decide to implement this project in your classroom and share results on social media please tag my Instagram @CreateWithMsA. I’d love to see your artist’s work!

Copyright © 2022 createwithmsa – All rights reserved

Leave a Comment